Michigan Divorce Law Overview
If you are considering divorce, it is important to remember that there are specific laws that each couple in the state of Michigan must adhere to in order to legally and successfully complete the process. For most couples, determining how the law can apply to them can be challenging, especially when a divorce is being contested or is on the verge of litigation.
If you are going through divorce, or if you are considering filing a divorce petition, it is imperative that you understand the laws as they apply to you and retain the representation of an experienced Michigan divorce lawyer from 1-800 Divorce in Michigan.
The Requirements of Filing For Divorce in Michigan
In order to file for divorce in Michigan, you will need to meet the following requirements:
- You must have resided in the state of at least 180 days
- You have resided in the county where you are filing for divorce for at least 10 days
- You meet the legal grounds for divorce in the state
- If requested of you, you attend and attempt to settle any differences through mediation or counseling prior to litigation
Additionally, Michigan is an equitable distribution state, which means that all marital property could be distributed fairly among the divorcing couple. Any alimony or spousal support, as well as child support and child custody, could be determined by a judge. All premarital legal documents will be taken into consideration during the course of the case.
Are you facing divorce?
Whether you are considering filing for divorce, or if you have already been served divorce papers, it is important that you seek counsel from an experienced and trusted legal professional. When you choose to work with 1-800 Divorce, you will have assistance from the state’s most experienced reputable family law attorneys who are are the only practice who created and use the 1-800 Divorce process.
REQUEST A FREE CONSULTATION
Contact us today to discover if 1-800 Divorce is right for you.